Keegan DeWitt – current Nashville resident, former Brooklynite, and native of Portland, OR – decamped to Paris for a month this past fall to finish the stunning Nothing Shows. Already known for the tender craftsmanship of his scores for multiple New York Times-heralded films and the resonant lyricism of his debut album, Islands (Izumi Records, 2009), this new 7-song EP fuses both into create one gorgeous, cohesive work. Nothing Shows is inspired by the poems of Philip Larkin – the EP’s title comes from Larkin’s collected works – and examines some of the poet’s most common themes, like the passion of youth, the cynicism of disappointment, and the balance of idealism versus reality. The songs share a cinematic feel and explore a range of sounds: whether the heartfelt, anthemic build that closes the hopeful title track; the exuberant, 20-person chorus sing-along of standout “Say La La;” the gentle, strings-heavy and lovelorn “Michel Bizot” (featuring Madi Diaz, watch the video here); or the urgent, dance-y palpitations of a bike ride through a Nashville night’s hot summer rain on “Hearts Beat Loud.”

Nothing Shows EP track listing:
1. More Of You
2. Say La La
3. Tired Of Love
4. Michel Bizot
5. They Ain’t The Same
6. Nothing Shows
7. Hearts Beat Loud

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top