Song of the Day: “Hip to Deaf” by Asleep

Today’s song is “Hip to Deaf” by Asleep. The Youngstown, Ohio indie four-piece, consist of Todd Kaden (vocals/guitar), Jon Dean (guitar), Cory Snyder (bass/vocals), and Shawn Logan (drums/percussion). Asleep is a rock band with an experimental focus. They write pop songs that reflect a rusty optimism prevalent throughout their northeast Ohio surroundings. Their two previous releases, All These Things We’ll Never Need recorded by Bill Korecky (Mushroomhead) and Between, Above, and Below produced by Mike Watts (As Tall As Lions, The Dear Hunter), received great reviews selling over 10,000 physical copies.

Asleep will be releasing their latest album Unpleasant Companion on February 7th. The album was recorded in four days to capture a live dynamic onto 16-track 2-inch analog tape with legendary Chicago engineer, Steve Albini (Nirvana, Pixies, PJ Harvey, Page and Plant, Iggy Pop and the Stooges). “The album’s central theme explores how we manage to stay so addictively connected yet simplistically separated from one another through the same digital loops in the current fabric of the information age” states Asleep.

For more information on Asleep, check out their official website and Facebook page.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top