Blasfemea Releases 'Galaxia Tropicalia' To The US's Ears


Blasfemea is a Lisbon, Portugal-based tropical psychedelic electropop band, formed in the early 2000’s by Tiago Amaro, Fabio Jevelim (vocals and guitars) and the Lourenço brothers (David and Rui on drums and bass.) Blasfemea’s debut album Galaxia Tropicalia is a record comprised of 10 pop songs, all named after girls (including a cover of MJ’s “Dirty Diana,”).

Blasfemea’s influences are as wide as their minds. This may sound presumptuous but the truth is that the band shows no shame in loving Madonna and Bob Dylan as Blasfemea’s influences are based in all of the artists they feel to be “true” regardless of style. Blasfemea is doing for tropical music what Vampire Weekend is doing for afropop. Released in other parts of the world in October 2009 and now set for release in America in April 2010, Galaxia Tropicalia features horns by members of Portugal’s Bambule, violin by Ana Meneses and the special participation of British band, Dead Kids. Originally, all the tunes on Galaxia Tropicalia would be named after girls and each girl would have a different city. The band choose this concept at the beginning in order to limit their minds to a specific concept and achieve a focused, solid album. Ultimately, the band narrowed the focus to just girls. You can check the emerging result yourself on Blasfemea’s Galaxia Tropicalia.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top